Skip to main content
Newton Public Schools - Current Members

Current Members

Ellen Gibson was elected to the School Committee from Ward 1 in November 2013.  Ellen has been a parent leader for many years at Underwood, Bigelow and Newton North.  She served on the school councils at all three schools and as a PTO officer at Underwood and Bigelow.  Ellen served on various city-wide committees including the Superintendent Search Committee and Full Day Kindergarten Task Force.  Most recently she has been a Special Education Aide in Kindergarten classrooms at Franklin and Underwood Elementary Schools.  Ellen earned an A.B. from Vassar College and a J.D. from Boston University School of Law.  She is a former attorney and Human Resources Director.   She and her husband, Nate, have two children in the Newton Schools who will graduate from Newton North 2015 and 2018.
Margaret Albright was elected from Ward 2 in 2013. She has more than 25 years of non-profit management experience including work for non-profits in education, healthcare, social services and the arts.  She has worked in fund development for the Bay State Reading Institute, the Dorchester Family School Initiative, Codman Square Health Center and a host of other organizations. Margaret holds a Bachelor of Music degree from Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana and an MBA from Northeastern University.  She has served on the school councils at Newton North, Horace Mann and Day Middle School.  In 2010 she served as a member of the Full Day Kindergarten task force and the Day principal selection advisory committee. She also participated in the NPS Strategic Planning effort, and the Social Studies curriculum review committee. Margaret serves on the Education Committee of the Newton League of Women Voters and has been a member of the Board of Directors with the Newton Conservators, Newton’s land trust, for over a decade. 
Angela Pitter-Wright was elected from Ward 3 in November 2011.  She has been involved in the Newton Public Schools for many years, including serving as Technology Committee Chair and PTO Council at Cabot Elementary School. Angela was also a member of the Superintendent Search Committee.  Professionally Angela is a Senior Program Manager Executive.  She has spent the past 25 years in high-tech, most recently at Hewlett Packard Corporation, and brings extensive experience leading cross-functional global teams and products/services to the market.  She is a certified Project Management Professional (PMP) and holds both her M.S. in Administration and B.S. in Computer Engineering from Boston University. Angela and her husband Richard Wright have lived in Newtonville for 20 years and have three sons – the oldest at Bigelow Middle School and twins at Cabot.
Diana Fisher Gomberg has served as the Ward 4 member of the School Committee since November 2011.  Prior to her election, Diana was actively involved in education through the Burr and F.A. Day PTOs and School Councils, as well as her efforts lobbying the state legislature for sufficient funding for public education across the commonwealth. Professionally she has worked in the fields of public health and environmental policy focusing on program planning, monitoring and evaluation.  Diana earned a bachelors degree from Yale and a masters degree from the Harvard School of Public Health.  Her family has lived in Newton since 1997.  Diana's children attend Day Middle School and Newton North High School and her nephew attends Burr School.
Steve Siegel Steven Siegel was elected from Ward 5 in 2011. He and his wife Theresa have two daughters in the NPS who are expected to graduate from Newton South in 2014 and 2017. Steve has served on the Oak Hill School Council, is a volunteer elementary school math tutor, and has been active in the PTO. He has led a mayoral committee studying building maintenance practices, and served on search committees that found heads for three city departments. Steve was educated at the University of CT, and is owner and president of a structural design engineering firm he founded in 1994. His professional career relies upon rigorous problem solving, best practice development, and client relations
Ruth Goldman was elected from Ward 6 in 2013.  Ruth was active on the Bowen PTO for seven years, including two years as PTO Co-Chair, Safe Routes to Schools Committee, PTO Council and liaison to the 2013 Override.  She has 25 years of professional experience in environmental issues, youth development and experiential education, in the philanthropic and non-profit sectors.  Ruth is currently Consulting Program Officer at the Merck Family Fund.  She is a graduate of NSHS and holds a BA from Dartmouth College and an M.Ed. from the University of Toronto.  Ruth and her husband (also an NPS alumni) returned to Newton nine years ago and have two children, NSHS class of 2019 and 2022.

Matt Hills (Chairperson) was elected from Ward 7 in November 2009. Matt has been involved in the NPS and community for many years on the Ward School PTO and a variety of school and city committees. He is a Managing Director at LLM Capital Partners, a private equity and venture capital firm in Boston. He received his B.A. from Brandeis University and his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School. Matt and his wife Lisa have lived in Newton since 1992 and have four children who have gone to elementary, middle and high school at Ward, Bigelow and North.  Two of their children are now at North and two are in college.
Margie Ross Decter (Vice-Chair) was elected from Ward 8 in November 2009. Margie and her husband Adam, a Newton native, have two children attending the Memorial Spaulding School and their third son will graduate Newton South in 2023. Margie brings 20-years’ experience as a business owner and health care executive, community leader on non-profit boards, and a public policy advisor in the Clinton White House. Her professional career has focused on strategic planning, change management and creatively improving the quality of health care, biotechnology and educational organizations amidst financial constraints. Margie earned a Masters in Health Policy and Management from Johns Hopkins University and a B.S. in Biology and French from Lehigh University.
Setti Warren was elected as Mayor of the City of Newton in November 2009. Setti was born and raised in Newton where he attended Bigelow Junior High and Newton North High School. In 1997, Setti was awarded the Human Rights Award in recognition of his outstanding work as Vice-Chair of the City of Newton's Foundation for Ethnic, Racial, and Religious Equality. Setti was a founding member of Newton's Community Preservation Committee in 2002 and served as its spokesperson. After graduating from Boston College, Setti began an extensive career in public service as Special Assistant in the White House Office of Cabinet Affairs for President Clinton, as New England Director of FEMA, and as Deputy State Director for Senator Kerry. Prior to running for Mayor, Setti completed a year-long tour of duty in Iraq as a Naval Intelligence Specialist. Setti and his wife Tassy have a daughter, Abigail, and a son, John.